Torch! Torch! Torch!

by

Amanda posted about this in a facebook status, but I’m so into the torch that I have to elaborate.  One of our fans recently gave Team Charm a kitchen torch, and man, are we excited.  Like, I literally squealed when the package arrived, and I’m not real squealy.

Amanda, Jen, and I have been the first to play with it, and so far, it’s been a lot of fun.  We’ll have pictures and video for you soon.  Watching sugar crystals turn into beads of molten, caramelized liquid sugar is intensely satisfying, as is eating all kinds of foods with burnt sugar on top.  So far, we’ve stuck pretty closely to the custard family when we’ve engaged in burnination, but really, we can burn any old thing.

I think we’re going to be able to toast cheese on bagels and other sandwiches, for example.  I’m hoping.  To quote Robert Louis Stevenson’s marooned pirate, Ben Gunn, “Many’s the long night I’ve dreamed of cheese.  Toasted, mostly.”   I’m with you, guy.

The really cool thing about the torch, though, is that it’s going to take up a tiny amount of space (very important in quarters as cozy as ours) and allow us to use our oven far less.  Our space is already planned out in a way that makes packing sound equipment into a station wagon* look like child’s play, and the smaller and more versatile every gadget we get, the better.

*I’m talking about a lot of sound equipment here.  If you’ve ever been in a band or been friends with those who have been in bands, you know exactly what I’m talking about here.

Leave a Reply

